Bradley Stoke Town Council logo
Local Council Award Scheme Quality Gold logo

Outgoing Mayor to present fundraising cheques as new Councillors sworn in

BSTC - 15th May 2023

Councillor Tony Griffiths, who is the outgoing Town Mayor of Bradley Stoke, will end his mayoral term on Wednesday evening, 17th of May 2023 at 7.00 pm, when he presents cheques to representatives from his two chosen mayoral charities, Great Western Air Ambulance Charity and St Peters’ Hospice.

The total sum of £9,289.88 has been raised throughout the last year at a number of events, including the town’s Community Festival, the annual Scarecrow Trail and the highly successful Firework Display for these two charities.

Cllr Tony Griffiths comments: “It has been an honour to serve as Mayor. I’m delighted with the total amount raised and very grateful to everyone who has donated. It has been a fantastic opportunity for these charities to get involved in local activities and I am gratified to help them to raise funds. It’s good to know so many people will benefit. My thanks go to the volunteers who helped with the collections and supported Council’s events in the past year. Let me also pass my immense gratitude to all councillors who supported, especially Cllr Tom Aditya, Cllr Franklin Owusu-Antwi, Cllr Roger Avenin, Cllr John Ashe, Cllr Keith Cranney, Cllr Terri Cullen, and Cllr Dr Edward He.”

Photo of Cllr Tony Griffiths handing over Mayor's Charity cheque in 2021

Cllr Tony Griffiths handing over Mayor’s Charity cheque in 2021

The Bradley Stoke Town Council has fifteen councillors, elected from five different wards. Whilst, five councillors who served the council during the previous term were re-elected, ten new councillors (6 Labour, 2 Conservative, 1 Green and 1 Liberal Democrat), also won the town council elections on the 4th of May. Labour Party topped the poll with seven seats, followed by Conservatives with six seats, whilst the Green and Liberal Democrats bagged one seat each. It is the first time in history, Labour became the largest political group on Bradley Stoke Town Council. The result leaves the council with ‘no overall control’, but Labour has the option to form an understanding with other parties.

The newly elected councillors include Miss Aleena Aditya, who is the youngest councillor ever elected to represent Bradley Stoke Town Council, closely followed by another teenage councillor Mr James Nelson (their details were included in the previous press release). The other newly elected councillors are David Addison, John Bradbury, Frederic Contenot, Natalie Field, Jenny James, Brian Mead, Kulwinder Singh Sappal, and Alderman Jon Williams. The re-elected councillors include former Mayors Cllr Tom Aditya, Cllr Roger Avenin and Cllr Ben Randles, as well as Cllr Terri Cullen and Cllr Dayley Lawrence (Pictures of all councillors are included in the Council Members page on the Town Council website). There were many twists during the recent elections. The two South Gloucestershire councillors, Cllr Franklin Owusu-Antwi and Cllr Keith Cranney who represents Bradley Stoke, lost their seats in the town council. The election also witnessed the retirement of the longest-serving councillor, former Mayor John Ashe, who has been serving on Bradley Stoke Town Council since 2004.

The formal business of the Annual Town Council meeting will commence, after the mayor’s presentation of the cheques to the charities. The proceedings start with the election of the Chair of Council (Mayor) and Vice Chair (Deputy Mayor) for the coming year with the ceremonial Chains of Office being handed over. The standing committees of the Council, the spokesperson, the council representatives to various associated external bodies, and the signatories of the Council’s bank accounts will also be elected at the Annual Town Council meeting.

The Bradley Stoke Town Council, Annual Town Council Meeting takes place at Jubilee Centre, Savages Wood Road, BS32 8HL on Wednesday 17th May 2023, 7.00 pm (Photos and Interviews from 6.30 pm)

^return to main list

Share this article